Bride price or Ownership…

If at one point in your life you were ever in a business class, you would know the meaning of price but in layman terms, it is simply the amount given as payment for something on sale. And if you buy something doesn’t it mean you own it in one way or another? So really, by making a man, or woman in some parts of the world, pay dowry aren’t you giving him ownership and all the rights that go with it?

In Africa, dowry is like an ultimate law that can’t be broken. It is so intense that in some communities, failure to pay it and if by sheer bad luck your wife dies, they will not let you bury her but say you don’t have that right. It has become a way of cheating your spouse out of his money. I know of a lady who went to her Dad to say that the hubby’s family was so rich that he should request a 100  camels but tell them to sell the camels and bring the money cause he doesn’t have a farm to keep them. Do you know how much 100 camels are worth? I don’t know either 😛 but lets just say the Dad made millions from them.

I think its an outdated practice that really should have stopped with our ancestors! This is what breeds wife beaters, cause of thoughts like I own you and thus I could do whatever I want. And this is not even a theory anymore, I talked to an educated man with a really good job and in a position of influence and he told me that, “Beating my wife is not wrong, am just disciplining her!” And people have the nerve to ask me why I don’t think marriage is in the cards for me.

So really, by us continuing this custom of a bride price, aren’t we saying women are commodities just like a can of coke, to be used and disposed of when we are empty?

Cici

Hump Day…

Weird facts you don’t want to know but I’ll tell you anyway.

Author: Cici

Am weird, but that just makes me entertaining...

Leave a Reply

